Surendranath College
Estd.1884; UGC and CU Affiliated; NAAC Accredited
ISO 9001:2015 Certified


Brief History of The Department of Economics

Department of Economics is one of the oldest in this College. Formerly it was known as Department of Political Science and Economics. After 1960-61 it was named as Department of Economics. Since then this department has been fulfilling the educational demand of good number of students. Since inception, this Department has been catering just – in- time service particularly to weaker and marginalised section of the society . This Department offers 2 UG courses (I) B.Sc (Hons.) Degree Course and (II)B.A/B.Sc (General) Degree Course. Both of them are 3 years programme. Stalwarts of this department

  • Prof. Bhabotosh Dutta (Ex-Teacher)
  • Prof. Kunja Bihari Kundu (Ex-Teacher)
  • Dr. Nilabja Ghosh (Ex-Teacher, currently in IEG, New Delhi)
  • Bibhuti Bhusan Bandopadhyay (Alumni)

Some of the established Alumni of recent years

  • Arindam Bandopadhyay (Associate Prof, Amity University)
  • Abhijit Sarkar (Sr. Vice President, Indicus Analytics)
  • Seshanwita Das (Assoc. Prof, Amity University),
  • Shuvankita Chakraborty (Capgemini)
  • Subrata Majumder (Asst. Prof, Sunderban Mahavidyalay)
  • Somsuvra Chakraborty (IGATE Global Solutions)
  • Sanchita De (Guest Teacher, Gour Mohan Sachin Mandal Mahavidyalaya)
  • Madhumita Bose (Manager, The Lalit Great Eastern)

Find us at: facebook, Economics Department Surendranath College (52 members and growing)

Faculty Name Profile
Abanti Goswami profilebutton-1
Ishani Waiba profilebutton-1
Kausik Lahiri profilebutton-1
Anuradha Sen profilebutton-1
Debjani Banerjee profilebutton-1