Surendranath College
Estd.1884; UGC and CU Affiliated; NAAC Accredited
ISO 9001:2015 Certified




Brief History of The Department of Physics

In 1882 Surendranath Banerjea took over the Presidency School and converted it in January, 1884 into Presidency Institution affiliated to I.A.Standard and later in the same year into The Ripon College as a full –fledged degree college. The Law Department was added in 1885 (later converted into a separate College in 1911 named as Ripon Law College), the Department of Commerce in 1940 (converted into a separate Degree College in 1961), a branch College at Dinajpur (now a separate College in Bangladesh) in 1942, the Evening science Section in 1947 (now a part of Surendranath Evening College) and the Women’s section in 1948 (converted into an independent unit of Degree College in1960). In 1948-49 the Trustees renamed the college as Surendranath College in homage to the Founder of the institution and author of ‘A Nation in making’. In accordance with the instruction of U.G.C., the State Government and the Calcutta University, all the day Sections of the institution have been incorporated in Surendranath College. The Department of Physics, Suerendranath College started functioning before independence.

Faculty Name Profile
Shib Shankar Biswas profilebutton-1
Asok Kumar Das profilebutton-1
Purnendu Prakas Pal profilebutton-1
Ranjit Maity profilebutton-1
Prassana Kumar Mondal profilebutton-1
Sourav Mitra profilebutton-1
Emona Datta profilebutton-1
Aparajita Das profilebutton-1