Surendranath College
Estd.1884; UGC and CU Affiliated; NAAC Accredited
ISO 9001:2015 Certified

Computer Science



Brief History of The Department of Computer Science
The Department of Computer Science was incepted in 1994. Surendranath College is the first college under Calcutta University which can get the credit to flag the honor of introducing this course. Hence the Department of Computer Science in Surendranath College bears a historical importance in this aspect. The teaching-learning process of the subject Computer Science in B.Sc. Pass level was begun in 1994 under the supervision of Prof. Birendra Narayan Roy, the then Head of the Department of Physics. He was the founder of the Department of Computer Science. The Honours course of the subject was started from 1996 under the Department of Physics and was controlled by the then departmental Head Prof. Atal Chowdhury. Dr. Himadri Bhattacharyya conducted most of the classes of Hons. and Pass levels and also conducted the university examinations in Computer Science for the students at that time. Principal Dr. Sisutosh Samanta whole-heartedly co-operated to lay-out the foundation stone of the Computer Science Department and nurtured it to grow from its seed level till his retirement in January, 2001. The approved student strength was 30 in Honours course and 20 in Pass course at the starting period of teaching-learning of this subject. Eventually, the Department of Computer Science grew with an independent status in 2001 by the sincere effort of principal Dr. S. Samanta and foresightedness of Prof. B.N.Roy. They took a fruitful initiative to create three teaching and three non-teaching posts for the department by pursuing to the Government of West Bengal. Dr. Samanta appointed Dr. Himdri Bhattacharyya as a lecturer of Computer Science and as a departmental Head in January, 2001. Since then the department has been running with one lecturer (substantive post) and four laboratory staff (two permanent and two casual) till 2014. The other two permanent teaching posts remained vacant till April, 2014. Dhiman Karmakar and Tohida Rehman joined these two posts in May, 2014. Now there are three permanent teaching faculties, five guest lecturers and two instructors in the department. There were many guest teachers in different time periods who served and some are still serving the department delivering their valuable knowledge to the students. The department has a glorious past in its students’ records in university examinations year by year. Most of the appeared students not only get first class in honours examinations, but some of them acquire ranks also in their university results. The levels of excellence in the results of Honours course is being kept up till date. Dr. Himadri Bhattacharyya has been serving as the Head of the Department since 2001 and she was a single permanent teacher till 2014. She sincerely and successfully had set up both the software Honours and Microprocessor laboratories at the time of inception of the department. The experimental set up of the Hardware laboratory was done by her sole and dedicated effort. She has been representing the college in Calcutta University as a member of Board of Studies of Computer Science since 2003 to till date. She also represented the college as well as our country in various international conferences held at several times in different countries like USA, Canada, Switzerland etc. She has collaboration with Calcutta University and Machine Intelligence Unit of Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata in her post-doctoral research work. She is guiding two Ph.D. students under Calcutta University. Her knowledge, sincerity and dedication enrich the students of this department for a long time. Presently, the college is going to start Post-Graduate course in Computer Science. Principal Dr. Indranil Kar encourages the department to begin Post Graduation. Students’ Union of the college as well as the present and past (passed out) students of the Dept. of Computer Science are demanding the commencement of the PG course. The college recently has got permission for opening PG course in this subject from the Higher Education Council, Govt. of West Bengal. Principal Dr. Kar is fully co-operating with the department and is giving moral support in all the processes which are now being proceeded to begin Post- Graduate teaching-learning in Department of Computer Science.





Assistant Professor


Guest Lecturer



Raktim Chakraborty

State Aided College Teacher


State Aided College Teacher - I


State Aided College Teacher-1


State Aided College Teacher - Category II


Guest Lecturer

Subarna Sen

State Aided College Teacher

Sudeshna Tripathy

State Aided College Teacher


State Aided College Teacher - II

Department of Computer Science offered following courses

BSc in Computer Science

MSc in Computer Science